BBC Breakfast

BBC Breakfast airs on BBC One between 6am and 9.15am, offering the latest national news, sport, business and weather headlines. It is broadcast every day of ever week of the year, including weekends and public holidays.

There has been national breakfast programming on the BBC since Breakfast Time launched on January 17 1993. That show featured presenters such as Frank Bough, Selina Scott, Nick Ross and Russell Grant.

But the current show format was unveiled on October 2, 2000, as programmes on BBC One and BBC News 24 were merged into one single simulcast.

On May 2 2006, production for the show moved into studio N6 at Television Centre alongside other news-based programmes that require a large set such as the walls of video screens that BBC Breakfast has become known for.

The move to Salford Quays in MediaCityUK in Greater Manchester led to a change in presenting personnel after Sian Williams and Chris Hollins opted not to move north from London.

Louise Minchin was slotted in alongside Bill Turnbull, Susanna Reid and Charlie Stayt after the switch.

And Dan Walker and Naga Munchetty have become increasingly familiar faces on the show since Susanna moved to ITV in 2014 and Bill stood down in February 2016 after 15 years.

Other former presenters include Jeremy Bowen, Mishal Husain, Natasha Kaplinsky, Dermot Murnaghan, Sophie Raworth, Simon McCoy and Kate Silverton.

BBC Breakfast was broadcast from a temporary studio near the Olympic Park in east London during the 2012 Summer Olympics. The short term switch back to London finished the day after the closing ceremony.

In 2014 the show made another non-permanent move, to Glasgow to showcase highlights from the 2014 Commonwealth Games.

For the 2016 Summer Olympics in Brazil the show was renamed ‘Olympic Breakfast’ and anchored from Salford and Rio.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next »